I fell In Love The Way You Fall Asleep…

… slowly and then all at once.

This is a quote from one of my favorite movies. I especially love this quote as there is such a deep message to it. And it also says so much about the movie it is from.

Picture this below… Beautiful, right? And it seems perfect. Right?

https://i1.wp.com/livingsublog.syr.edu/files/2014/04/big-stars.jpg

But there might be faults. Faults we don’t see right away. Faults that stay hidden and seem still not existent for a long time. Until they become obvious. Faults in the starts. Faults in our stars…

It is hard for me to pick a favorite movie. But this one has to be up there. And thank you very much, I Will Eventually Do Or Say Something Interesting, for your great post about this movie today and our little conversation. I hope you don’t mind that I got inspired by your post and use the above quote for this post…

I watched ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ on the plane, after a long time of thinking about if it would be a smart thing to do. I get pretty emotional when it comes down to movies like this and I knew the basics of the story. But then it was by far the best option and when it finally got dark and everyone around me seemed to have fallen asleep (including my daughter) I decided to give it a go. Before telling you a little bit more about the movie without spoiling it, I have to let you know how much of a mess I was when the movie was over. And as so often when I get emotional during a movie, it will not be over when the movie is over. It stays there. I need to process it. And if something like this happens, then for me, the movie was a great movie. Because they ‘last’.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/2/22/Fault_in_our_stars.jpg

The movie touched me on so many levels. First of all of course because of those young kids who have to deal with deceases like this. There is 16 year old Hazel, who is a cancer patient, struggling to breathe and 17 year old Augustus who’s cancer caused the loss of his leg. While Hazel seems rather negative about her situation, Augustus seems happier and has always a little joke ready. They find each other in a very special way and on a very special level and the story with all its little twists and turns showcases the importance of this friendship for both of them so well. In a perfect world young kids should never have to deal with issues like this.

Then there are the parents. Hazel’s parents who try to keep positive but also protective. As a parent of healthy children you can only imagine what they must go through. The moments when they think they lose their child, the glimpseΒ  of hope when you hear about a new treatment, the disappointment when you think your child can not try the new treatment and again the hope you must have when after all your baby gets the new treatment and actually reacts in a positive way. The ups and downs, the fear, the hope and the numbness you must feel. And in all of this emotional turbulence you always have to try to stay positive for your child.

Back to the kids. How they deal with their situation, their fears and hopes, anger and frustration. All of it is so well shown in the movie and I am sure it goes even deeper in the book. What hit me, was when you realize how much pressure Hazel feels about the possibility of leaving her parents behind. Of leaving them without their purpose. I would have never thought of something like this.

Now I don’t want to break it down even more. Otherwise I will spoil the movie for you. For me it is definitely up on my best movie list. And not just after watching it but now again, after writing these lines, I want to go and hug my children and tell them how much I love them.

In response to the Daily Post Daily Prompt – Silver Screen

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love the quote, I haven’t seen that movie though, I’m afraid of having the same emotional reaction.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I fall in love the way my life goes: not even the most detailed plan can prepare me for that. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Magnificent book, fabulous movie — a real crying jag either or both ways πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t read the whole post because I have yet to see the movie and want to. I know it is a tear jerker, but I have to ask… have you ever cried watching a movie on an airplane before? There’s a new study that finds that people experience heightened emotions when they are way up high in the sky (my words not theirs). This probably explains why I experience such intense fear over a tiny bump of air turbulance.

    Anyway, I found a link to back me up: .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Writing on the Spot

flash poetry and prose

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

Musings of An Insomniac

Late night thoughts of a fool.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

nomadic story

life on the move

