Freestyle Writing Challenge

Who doesn’t like a good challenge? I do! And today I have a little bit of time on my hand. So when Juls invited me to take part in this challenge I felt totally up for it. If you don’t know Juls‘ blog yet, you should definitely head over and check out that beautiful space and her amazing posts and pictures.

Here are the rules to the challenge:

1. Open a blank Document
2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you prefer.
3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
4. Once you start writing do not stop until the alarm sounds!
5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)
6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.
7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers)

Alright!

And here is the topic I was given and what I wrote:

“The Road”

There is this quote about choosing a road less traveled. I don’t really remember what it says exactly but it sure inspires me. I totally love it. It’s what makes me think of adventures, of new challenges, of new experiences and new people we meet while on our way. It makes me think of life in general. You know the saying “Don’t go down that road”? Or the road of no return. There are the roads that we can not really travel and still they lead us somewhere. They take us to a point where we can’t change what we’ve done anymore. Or where we get stuck.

Do we really get stuck? I’m not sure. I don’t believe that there is a point of no return. Of course things might no longer be the same. But that does not mean we can’t “return”. We always can. Things just might not be the same anymore.

It’s the same with traveling. You leave. And when you come back, things might have changed. No matter for how long or how short you might have been gone.

That reminds me of that day I quickly headed out to go get some things to cook for dinner and when I came back an hour later our Bearded Dragons (Lizards) had laid eggs. Well, one of them did… So although my life and my home was still the same, a tiny little something had changed in that short time I was “on the road”.

Traveling the road less traveled makes me think of freedom. It makes me think of beautiful fields I pass while driving, of mountains, maybe snow covered, maybe not. Of forests and the sun shining through the branches, projecting shades and shapes on the road in front and behind me.

It makes me think of houses I see while driving, wondering who might live in them, what they might be up to and what their story might be. It’s the thrill of reaching a new place and discovering it, tasting new foods, listening to new music and chatting to people I’ve never met. It’s the idea of making new friends, sharing with them the stories of others I’ve met while on the road.

Now do I always want to choose the road less traveled? I’m not sure. It’s good to go back to places I’ve been before, places I like and made me feel good. It’s good to see people again I haven’t seen for ages. It’s good to go back to a favorite restaurant and eat their signature dish again. Revisiting places is fun too and it sure brings back memories.

So the road we travel might take us to something entirely new, something eye opening, something we make new memories about. But the road we’ve traveled before will bring us back to a place we liked (hopefully), to people we share so much with and to a place where we made memories before. It’s there where we can “travel back in time” with our friends, with our family or maybe just in our mind. Revisiting the things we did, the things we encountered in our memory.

A road is an invitation. An invitation for a good time, an invitation for a little adventure. Every time we travel a road we go on a journey. A journey with a huge potential to influence our life in one or another way. It’s up to us if we want to head down that road on ourselves or with company. But in any case: It’s sure worth while traveling 🙂

No of words = 595
I chose 10min

This is such a fun challenge. I still have a smile on my face! Now it’s up to you.

Here are the bloggers I would like to challenge:

But I Smile Anyway
A Simple Life
Pamela D. Beverly
Hold Me, Don’t Hold Me

I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did. Now here is your topic….

S

C

R

O

L

L

F

U

R

T

H

E

R

E

V

E

N

F

U

R

T

H

E

R

and here you go. Your topic is: “Sunset”

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Good story I enjoyed all the thinking it brought to my mind.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I loved it !!! You successfully put down in words the beauty of being on the road and the mixed feelings and wonders one might feel while travelling it; this is exactly why I love the road and the many life opportunities it might lead to.
    Thanks for the trip!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nice one! I like your interpretation of the road.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. That was really good. I like your take on ‘road’. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Writing on the Spot

flash poetry and prose

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

Musings of An Insomniac

Late night thoughts of a fool.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

nomadic story

life on the move

