Five Photos, Five Stories – Day Five: Competition

FPFSChal6Watching my son competing I can’t help but feeling proud of especially him but also all his friends. When he started doing this Martial Art, I never thought that he would take it so seriously. He trains hard and not only is a black belt now for little while already but he also does extremely well in his competition. It’s his focus and his commitment that inspire me.

I used to try to convince him to start with a team sport as I was so sure that this is an individual thing but he always refused. He tried for years to explain to me that they are a team, that they feel like they are one unit and they stick together and support each other even if they fight a kid from the same club. And it is true. They are always there for each other, they support each other. And if they have to fight a kid of the same team the rest of them evenly split up and support their team mates.

My son made me enter a totally new world and I am glad I did. There is so much respect and support. There are so many great philosophies and values. Something that I never would have expected.

Keep your eyes and minds open. This is the lesson I learned from this. Just because something has to do with ‘fighting’ it can still teach the right values…

………………………………………..

A couple of days ago I received the following invitation:

Hi SB

I’m about to invite you to join in a challenge I recently accepted. Five Photos, Five Stories. I thought this challenge could present you with the opportunity of view blogging from a different angle, to do something different, anything that suits you for that matter. It’s entirely up to you. …

Clare

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo.Β  It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you.

Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge.

Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command. And actually everyone can join in. So feel free to if you like the idea.

Thank you so much, Clare from My Creative Cosmos or Clare & Dean for nominating me for this amazing challenge.

………………………………………..

I would like to invite the Berryduchess to join the party. As I said, it is totally up to you to accept this challenge.

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. There is a martial arts club here with a respected reputation. I have been considering for some time to enroll our 7 year old son. This has definitely helped persuade me. Congrats to your son on earning his black belt. The time and the commitment makes it no easy feat.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is a big effort! He was pretty young when he received it and my daughter just got hers too. And a trophy for being the youngest black belt in the history (50years) of the club! It’s such a huge achievement! You should enrol your son. They get a lot out of it. Not only self defense but also respect for others

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi SB,

    Congratulations to your son for achieving his Black Belt and thank you for accepting the challenge. I’ve really enjoyed the journey of reading your five stories.

    Clare

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I did martial arts for a long time. Not because of the fights, but because of their philosophy. It was the best experience in my life and I still keep the most important medals on my wall.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations to your son for achieving a black belt. That must have taken a lot of hard work and determination. I have really enjoyed your five posts this week. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. First of all, congratulations! And as I mentioned earlier, I am willing and happy to continue this challenge πŸ™‚ i appreciate your invitation πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Writing on the Spot

flash poetry and prose

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

Musings of An Insomniac

Late night thoughts of a fool.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

nomadic story

life on the move

