Self Publishing Yes Or No

I have a finished manuscript sitting here, ready to be taken further. For weeks now I wonder which way to go. To self publish or not to self publish.

I had meeting after meeting with people who wanted to “help” me and more than once I heard the same phrase: Do you have a lazy 5’000 – 10’000 sitting around to invest while you self publish?

Honestly? No, I don’t! But that also means, that I don’t have a “lazy” 2’500 or 3’000 sitting around to pay you for a module, which in the end will not really bring me any further.

No, I don’t have the time really to run around and promote my book. But do I have to?

I was investigating over the last couple of weeks about self publishing and the many ways I can go. And honestly: I rather do that. I don’t want to spend my money on someone, who is not a publisher or an editor but just a mentor. You have all my respect and I totally understand where you are coming from. But I will try and go my own way. And only time will tell, if it was the right decision.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Congrats on finishing your novel!

    Take my advice with a grain of salt, because I’m a newbie to this world, and have yet to publish anything.

    I think many agree traditional publishing is a good place to start. Have you tried querying agents? It sounds like a long, drawn out process, and agents get so many queries, it probably feels like a lot of effort just to put your book in the proverbial slush pile, but on the other hand, if every author thought that way, no book would ever get published.

    If going the self publishing route – well, you have to look at it as a business, and most businessmen will tell you to only invest in response to what returns you are seeing. So, no, at this point, you don’t want to spend a lot of money. You do want to get an editor and a cover designer, i.e. people to help you make your book look professional. I suppose you will have to drop money on that. But be careful, because you don’t want to go broke following a dream that may or may not pan out. Plus, there are a lot of hustlers/scammers out there trying to make a quick buck who will take your money and do nothing for you, so be careful – go with your gut, if it doesn’t seem right, it probably isn’t.

    Figure out an amount you can comfortably afford. Hell, if it’s only a hundred bucks, then its a hundred bucks. So be it. I’m just saying on one hand – you don’t want to lose a lot of money, but you don’t want to send an unpolished book out into the world either. You have to somehow find a happy medium in between.

    Like

  2. Gonna have to follow you. This is a journey I can learn from as well. One of these days I’ll publish something…

    Like

  3. The self publishing route is certainly not easy, but for many new authors it seems to be the only way they can go – Including me. Actually getting a book published with online retailers is straightforward enough, but the marketing and promotional side of things takes so much time. With the second book of my trilogy now on Amazon, I’ve still a long way to go to be successful. I find the problem of getting a book noticed amidst the thousands of others the hardest thing. I’m not a natural social networker – I can’t seem to get my head around Facebook! I do love blogging, but find even that needs careful time management so it doesn’t detract from novel writing. It’s good to meet others on WP who have similar problems, as I’m sure you’ve found yourself. All advice is so useful. There are a lot of book cover designers out there, and I was really happy to find the one who produced my two new covers. Everything costs, though, from editors onwards. Self publishing isn’t cheap unless you can have a go at everything yourself – which many people have done. So, we plod on . . .

    Like

    • I agree… I am lucky enough to have a great designer as a friend and another one who is an artist. They both offered me to have a go on the cover and I am looking forward seeing what they come up with. I guess you can not get around the social network. And I see your point. Facebook and Twitter are important for us. I do not have an issue with Facebook but I struggle with Twitter… But oh, well… I guess that is the flip side to the fun of writing 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Writing on the Spot

flash poetry and prose

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

Musings of An Insomniac

Late night thoughts of a fool.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

nomadic story

life on the move

